Cravin’ Asian

Eventually I am going to run out of funny titles for these posts…but until then, I will enjoy them.

This week has been FULL of me being lazy for some reason. Maybe I shouldn’t be admitting this to the world wide web, but I just want to be honest. It’s been hard to get out of bed in the morning when Big Love on HBOGO seems far more appealing. I’m proud to say though, that today I not only got out of bed, but I showered AND did my hair AND did my makeup (daywear of course!) AND went to Michael’s for some new painting supplies (I need a hobby besides food) AND hard-boiled eggs for the first time (more to come on that in a minute) AND am now sitting outside on our patio enjoying the gorgeous weather while I write this. So you see, I’m doing things.

Another reason I think it’s been a little easier to “lounge” a bit more this week is because our meals have just been so gosh darn simple! Can’t really complain about that…

We haven’t really ventured into Asian foods yet with Paleo (but it is only day 10 soooo that’s not really a big deal) until last night. Since we bought enough lettuce to feed a small village on Sunday, I was trying to come up with things we could use it for…and AH HA – lettuce wraps came to mind. In order to make this meal happen, I did make a trip to Whole Foods to purchase a couple of items I was trying to avoid (due to their um, how do I put this…EFFING RIDICULOUS PRICES), but I caved. I bought: coconut aminos (soy sauce “sub”), coconut butter, almond butter and sesame oil. I have read through a couple of recipes online (just search “paleo lettuce wraps” on Pinterest if you want to as well) but I figured I would just wing it. What could go wrong? Other than us starving to death because I ruined our dinner…

Asian Lettuce Wraps:

  • photo-11 large head of romaine lettuce (iceberg is probably easier to use as a wrap FYI)
  • 1 1/2 lbs of ground turkey
  • 1/2 white onion (diced)
  • 1 can of water chestnuts (diced)
  • 2 handfuls of chopped green onion
  • 1 T coconut butter
  • 2 T sesame oil
  • 3 T coconut aminos
  • 1 T crushed red pepper

Heat pan on medium-high and coat with coconut butter, once melted add turkey and cook until no pink is left – drain any excess liquid. Add the onions (white/green) and water chestnuts, cook until the onions are transparent. Add the sauces and seasoning, stir and cook for another 5 minutes on low. ANNNNNDDDD that’s it. You’re Done. Piece of…something paleo.

As for my hard boiled egg experience this afternoon, if you are not a well seasoned veteran and are interested in trying something new (maybe or maybe you already do it like this, I don’t know) check out these instructions¬†from Picky Palate. Worked perfectly for me! Well that’s all from me today, tonight is leftover night sooooo you might not be getting another post until Saturday. Unless I can get R to go to the Wilsonville Farmer’s Market with me tonight, cross your fingers!

One thought on “Cravin’ Asian

  1. From the Egg Lady – Hard Cooking Eggs – here’s how we did it at the Iowa Egg Council per instructions from the American Egg Board:
    http://www.incredibleegg.org/recipes/recipe/basic-hard-boiled-eggs?from=/recipes/collection/simply-eggs/hard-boiled-eggs
    This method cuts several minutes from the time. [There is no need to boil them for 12 minutes before letting them steam in the pan of boiled water.] If they are older eggs they’ll peel easier. Overcooking too long will bring out the green ring. I have found draining the hot water off, a few rinses of cold water first and then adding ice quickens the cool down.
    Then I pour water off again, replace the lid and shake the pan like popcorn to crack the shells. Refill pan with cool water and let soak while you peel.
    Tapping eggs on a flat surface only encourages shell sticking into the egg whites. Soaking cracked shells in water helps loosen them while you peel one.
    R’s Mom

Leave a Reply

