Pumpkin, Pumpkin and More Pumpkin

Happy Sunday!

I hope your weekend has been as enjoyable as mine has been! (Enjoyable in this sentence = relaxing and awesome) I think weekends with nothing are the agenda are way underrated. The weather has still been great here – a little colder but sun still shining! I will take it as long as I can. We are getting ready to go kayaking today actually, should be interesting with the temp high being 50 degrees.. but I will try and take some pictures! One thing I did accomplish this weekend…watching all 3 Mighty Ducks movies! I have never (somehow) seen any of them before – they were great! Emilio Esteves is just a real stud.

As you might be able to gather from the title…I have some more pumpkin recipes to share! My hope is that you are not sick of them yet, because I bought a Costco size case of pumpkin and I have to figure out what to do with them! (I was a little overzealous at the time.) One of my all time favorite pumpkin recipes is a pumpkin bread that my mom makes every year. The recipe makes two loaves and it is usually a struggle for us to keep them around longer than a weekend – they are just SO good. The bread is moist with just the perfect amount of pumpkin flavor. The downside to this bread is the amount of oil, flour and sugar the recipe calls for. So I set out to find a Paleo recipe that included ingredients I had in the apartment already. (Because I am lazy and cheap, mostly) I came across a recipe at Danielle Walker’s blog Against All Grain. I have been following Against All Grain on instagram since I started Paleo, and her recipes are a little more intricate than some other’s I have seen – but everything looks AMAZING. I followed her pumpkin bread recipe – the one with coconut flour instead of arrowroot flour – exactly, so check it out!

Here are the pictures of my experience:

Combine all ingredients as instructed.

photo 5-3

After Cooking – make sure you allow it to set and cool before serving!

photo 3-11 The bread was really good! I won’t lie though, it didn’t taste much like the pumpkin bread I have come to know and love – but we did like it a lot, warmed it up the next day even for breakfast as a nice little side with our eggs and vegetable juice. I think one of the main things I have come to realize after making a few “replica” recipes is that they aren’t going to taste EXACTLY the same, that’s just unrealistic. But I feel so much better after eating the Paleo versions of things AND I don’t feel as guilty when I indulge a little more than I should. :)

Another thing I tried recently was making my own pumpkin puree. I read about it on the Pioneer Woman‘s blog and thought – that doesn’t look TOO hard! (I probably should have chosen to either just make all my own OR buy the Costco package because now I just have WAY too much…) Anyway – after going through the whole process, it wasn’t that hard but I think I appreciate the convenience of pumpkin puree in a can. Especially if you can buy an organic brand with no additives. But if you are feeling adventurous one day or want to prove to your family you can make a pumpkin recipe by scratch – give this pumpkin puree recipe a try!

Make sure you buy PIE pumpkins – they are the smaller ones and are the best for baking (or so I have read…) Prepare them by cutting off the tops, cutting in half, scooping out the insides (you can use the pumpkin seeds recipe for those!) and then cut into wedges.

photo 3-12

Place on a baking sheet and cook at 375 degrees for 35-45 minutes.

photo 2-15

Pumpkin should be able to be pierced through the skin with a fork easily when done.

photo 1-15

Wait for the pumpkin pieces to cool and remove the skins (this process is kind of annoying) and put all the pumpkin “meat” into a large bowl. When done with all pieces, either put pieces a few at a time in a high speed blender or food processor OR mash by hand with a potato masher (that’s what I did).  Place in freezer safe ziploc bags and you’re good to go! Just thaw when you need to use them.

photo 2-14

I haven’t tried a recipe yet using it – but I am hoping that it tastes even better than regular pumpkin! I think we may have some more pumpkin pancakes in our future…

There are some other new recipes I made last week that I am waiting to share – crock pot galore! So keep checking back!

Leave a Reply

