A couple of old time favorites

Hi Again!

Before I head off to my appointment at the Apple Store (my stupid email on my computer is messed up!) I thought I would add the recipes for last night’s dinner. I know that it’s only day three for us, but I am really pleased with how I have been feeling – well rested, energized, FULL and SATISFIED. Let’s hope I can keep this up!

Ratatouille (Mema’s version)

  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes (all the way from Hy-Vee!)
  • 3 large zucchinis – chopped (1-2 inch pieces
  •  1 onion – chopped (similar in size to zucchini)
  • 3-4 T of garlic
  • Olive oil

image-7

 

 

Drizzle olive oil on the bottom of a large stew pot, add garlic and stir while on a low to medium heat. Once the pot is hot, add the onion and continue to cook until the onions become transparent. (The smell at this point is AH-MAAAAZ-ING) Add zucchini (picture below) and cook for another 5-7 minutes, making sure to keep moving everything in the pot around so it doesn’t burn. Add 2 cans of tomatoes, mix all ingredients well and leave on a low heat to simmer until the vegetables are cooked to your desire.

 

 

image-10

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sausage and Peppers

  • 5-6 Sausage links
  • 3 peppers
  • 3 onions
  • Olive oil
  • Salt/pepper to taste

image-8

Now let me say something off the bat – these are the instructions on how I made this last night, but I am also going to add in what I am going to do different for next time. Like for starters, not use enough produce for a small family when there is just two of us eating! (I would say that 2 peppers and 2 onions would be sufficient for two servings with leftovers) I started by slicing up the peppers and onions into long strips, tossing them in olive oil and salt/pepper and throwing them in a 9 x 13 pan. I put them in a pre-heated oven at 375 degrees. While the veggies were in the oven, I boiled the sausage for about 5-7 minutes in a pan with water and a lid on it, then I removed the lid and let the water evaporate/browning the sausages on each side. Once the sausage was done I removed them from the pan, sliced them and mixed them into the 9 x 13 pan with the peppers and onions and returned the whole thing to the oven for about 10 minutes. What I would do next time…cut the peppers and onions, slice the sausage and mixx them all together (raw) and throw them in the oven together. I think this would allow the flavors to combine a little better – you just want to make sure that the sausage is cooked all the way through, but it shouldn’t be a problem if you slice them.

 

 

Here’s the finished product! (Again, the picture’s might not look like they are gourmet meals, because uh… they aren’t – but they ARE delicious)

image-5

This is a perfect week night meal – you throw everything in and it’s done before ya know it!

We are heading to the Wilsonville Farmer’s Market tonight after R gets home from work – I will make sure to snap pics of all the goodies!! (I will be wearing leggings and a sweatshirt though, it’s SIXTY degrees! Yikes.)

Leave a Reply

