A trip to the PSU Farmer’s Market

Ever since I got here I have been excited to try out the Portland State University Farmer’s Market! Probably since I am just really upset that I have never been to the Des Moines Farmer’s Market (I don’t know what’s wrong with me). Either way, I got to go yesterday!!!!! R and I woke up at the crack of dawn for some god forsaken reason, but I think it was actually a good thing because we had made breakfast, gotten ready and were downtown at the Farmer’s Market by 9:30. AND it was a beautiful day!

There were a lot of things that we didn’t even stop to really look at because we can’t eat them right now – BUT on the other hand, there was also plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables to choose from. My favorite stands were the flower stands though. So many unbelievable colors and textures. I didn’t even get a picture that really does it any justice. (That will be my goal for next time!) Oh and my new favorite flower is the dahlia, they are so gorgeous.

image-24From left to right: vegetable stand (next time I am buying some of that rainbow chard!), FLOWERS!, and artichoke stand (lots of different varieties!)

We had decided that we didn’t want to buy anything at the Farmer’s Market that we could get cheaper somewhere else (we are on a pretty strict budget, remember?) So we set out to get some new veggies/fruits that we hadn’t tried yet or ones that we can’t really find in our Costco or local grocery store. At the end of our trip, I realized that we came home with pretty much all “normal” items (so basically the opposite of what I just said) so maybe we will go down the “new and different” route next week, haha.

Our theme was clearly GREEN:

  • image-25Kale
  • Green Apples
  • Italian artichoke (on the far left side of the picture)
  • HUMUNGO zucchini
  • Broccoli
  • Basil
  • Red Onion
  • Sorbet swirl watermelon
  • and the star of the show…GROUND PALEO BUFFLO MEAT

I have already laid out our menu for next week to incorporate all of these – more to come on that tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

