Our version of Shepherd’s Pie

One more post for today and I will have caught you all up with our weekend! (Not sure if it is a good or bad thing that I can do that in three blog postings…something for me to ponder later.)

Last night we went ahead (following our menu) and made a paleo version of Shepherd’s Pie. There are a TON, I literally mean probably close to a ton, of shepherd’s pie recipes online and a lot are considered paleo – however, we don’t have a lot of cooking supplies in our cupboards and I am not really in the market for buying things that I am going to use for one meal every two weeks. So, we work with what we have and end up make our own recipes. Fine by me!

This is a great meal to make ahead of time and pop in the oven 30-40 minutes before you’re ready to eat. (Which is exactly what we did) Because everything is cooked and just needs to be warmed up before serving! I will say that that one thing our Shepherd’s Pie is lacking is the gravy/sauce that most other’s have. I didn’t effect the taste at all for me, but this is something to think about if that is the reason you crave Shepherd’s Pie.

image-26Shepherd’s Pie

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 cup chopped red pepper
  • 1 cup chopped yellow pepper
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup chopped green beans (we used frozen, thawed them and then chopped them)
  • 1 large sweet potato
  • 1 T coconut butter

Brown turkey (we seasoned with celery salt), mix with vegetables (veggies do not need to be cooked, they will cook when you put the pan in the oven). Peel and cube the potato, place in a pot of water and let boil until the potato is easy to pierce with a fork. Drain the water and mash the potato using the coconut butter. Spread mashed sweet potato on top of the meat/veggie mixture and sprinkle crushed red pepper on top. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and bake for 30-40 minutes (or until the edges begin to brown).

This was seriously so good…we couldn’t stop eating it. Literally. So good. I suggest giving it a try so you don’t just have to take my word for it!

Well this is it for my posts for today…ENJOY YOUR SUNDAY!

Leave a Reply

