1-2-3 Meal

Thursday already?? Where is the time going! Hard to believe August is already half-way though. I am interested to see how the changing of the seasons goes here in Portland – I am hoping for a B E A UTIFUL fall, so keep your finger’s crossed for me.

image-37

Anywho, I bought myself a little somethin’ somethin’ to make this couch to 5K a little easier. Well, at least hopefully – again, crossing the fingers. Check em out, some new Nikes! I have been running with these old Reebox shoes that had the balance weights on the bottom. I swear they weigh easily 5 pounds, and it’s hard enough for me to run without adding any extra weight! Today was my second run with them and I really like them – so here’s to getting faster!

I know I didn’t post my Costco list this week (sorry!) but pretty much everything we got was the same as the last two weeks, so I figured it would be a tad redundant. The one thing we did get this week that was different was Aidell’s Chicken Sausage (chicken&apple). It’s $13 for 15 sausages – pretty awesome deal. So, I have made this meal before for myself and it was DELISH. It’s cheap, easy, and tastes good – home run.

Chicken Sausage Bake

  • 5 Aidell’s Chicken and Apple Sausages
  • 2 green peppers
  • 1 white onion
  • 3 large green apples

Preheat over to 350 degrees. Chop all ingredients to 1-2 inch pieces, place in a 9X13 pan and mix with about 1 T of olive oil. Bake for 25-30 minutes – the sausage is pre-cooked so you are basically just crisping everything. Some of the apples will turn mushy and into an applesauce like consistency, but we really liked that because it was kind of a sauce for the rest of the ingredients.

We ate this with a cold green bean and tomato salad. Again, quite easy. Just thawed frozen green beans (I put mine in a strainer and run cold water over them), diced up some grape tomatoes and tossed with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Threw in a little salt and pepper for taste and let it chill in the fridge until we were ready to eat.

I asked R what he thought and he gave me a thumbs up while continuing to eat. No time for talking with a meal like this I guess! 🙂 We will definitely be making this again soon. Hope everyone enjoys their Thursday evening!

image-38 image-39

2 thoughts on “1-2-3 Meal

Leave a Reply

