Home-cooked Sunday

Let me take you back in time, to Sunday. As you know, R and I went exploring and were gone most of the day. By the time we arrived back at the apt all I wanted to do was lay down, but NOOOOO we had to go grocery shopping and make dinner. I had been craving something that was a little more “hearty” than our usual meal and something that was a little easier (like I’m talking throw a few things in a crock pot and wait for it to be done). Since chili was both of those things, that’s what we decided on!

I want to give you a disclosure now (two actually) the picture looks not that great, but please show me a person who is good at capturing the essence of chili in a photo? And secondly, I don’t measure when I put spices in … I just shake a little here, sprinkle a little there and taste-test along the way. (The key with this is ALWAYS remember that you can add more, but you can’t take any back!) So what I am getting at is that the measurements are estimated – use your best judgement, swap something out if you don’t have it or don’t like it, make the recipe your own! (I am possibly going over board here…)

Paleo Chili (basically means it has no beans)

image-67

  • 1 lb of ground chuck (we had this on hand, can use any meat – typically I use ground turkey)
  • 1 red pepper – diced
  • 1 green pepper – diced
  • 1 white onion – diced
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 can tomato paste (use about half)
  • Chili seasoning (I made my own with about…2 T chili powder, 1 t celery salt, 1 t crushed red pepper, 1 T salt, 1 T black pepper, 1t ground mustard)

Instructions are TOO simple – brown the beef, drain the fat and throw beef in crock pot, add remaining ingredients, stir and set on high for about 45 min – 1 hour. I like my veggies with a little crunch still but you could cook them with the meat also to get them a little tender.

I am going to admit to you right now, there was not a lot of this left over… apparently peddle boating makes you hungry.

Leave a Reply

