Week 5 Meals

Another day, another dollar. Another week, another meal plan!

Day 30 will be coming up here this week – can you believe it?!?! I think that the past 20 or-so days have gone by incredibly fast and pretty easily as far as our meals were concerned. I want to reiterate again that this really isn’t TOO TOUGH of a plan to follow and that with some planning and preparation I truly believe that anyone can do it. But, I am also not oblivious to the fact that it may have been slightly easier for us being here in Portland since we don’t know a lot of people here just yet. What I mean when I say this is, that if the person (or people) you spend the most time with is (are) on the same plan/lifestyle change as you are – things are made A LOT easier. I don’t have to worry that I am going to have to sit by while R enjoys a few Miller Lites while watching football or that when I go to mexican with my friends that I will have to pass on the chips and queso (keeps coming back to the damn queso!). So yes, I think we chose the optimal time to do the whole30 for our life – but do I think that means it ISN’T possible for others? Maybe people who are living with a significant other or roommates who aren’t interested or someone who travels a lot? No, that’s not what I mean. But I do realize that part of our “ease” into success was, I believe, due to the fact that this was something we decided to do together.

While we are still going to be doing the whole30 plan until the triathlon on September 22nd – our plan for the FUTURRRRRE is to continue living the paleo lifestyle in what’s called an 80/20 plan. So during the week we will continue eating paleo and then give ourselves a HOO-RAH on one of the weekend days. Meaning, maybe we will go to a brewery or out to eat or enjoy a nice large bottle of wine at home (probably option three most likely). Here’s hoping that we can keep it up!

You probably didn’t even care about ANY of that. Sorry for rambling 🙂

ONTO…the meal plan! This week is pretty simple, I am going to try and get some new recipes so I can quit boring you guys, but not just yet haha

photo-2

  • Monday: Steak Kebabs w/ salad
  • Tuesday: Steak w/ steam broccoli and green beans
  • Wednesday: Turkey burgers w/ sautéed peppers and onions (maybe a little salad if we are feeling crazy!)
  • Thursday: Leftovers from turkey burger night
  • Friday: Pineapple Brat Bake

As for the weekend meals, we are planning on going to Whole Foods and checking out their meat counter and trying something new! Cross your fingers we find something delicious AND cheap!

Leave a Reply

