Hawaiian Turkey Burgers

So if you haven’t figured it out yet – I am a BIG fan of ground turkey. I just think it is so versatile, you get a lot for your money and I feel comfortable cooking it. Basically a home run for me! But, I will say that sometimes I struggle with thinking of new things to make so that I don’t get bored with my food. This recipe I had made back when I was living in Arizona and it was so fresh and delicious I just had to try it again and see what R thought about it!

photo 2Hawaiian Turkey Burgers

  • 1 lb of ground turkey
  • 1/3-1/2 red onion (diced)
  • 1 small can of crushed pineapple (make sure that it is canned in it’s own juice) – also, drain some of the liquid out
  • 1/2 cup green onion
  • 3 T coconut aminos

Place all ingredients in a bowl, mix together (I ended up foregoing the spoon and just using my hands to make sure that everything mixed well – for obvious reasons there are no pictures of that…) and form into patties. I made 4 good sized burgers and then 2 smaller ones (which I have been having with a salad for lunch). This is a great meal that you can prepare ahead of time. I was scheduled to work late on Wednesday so I just mixed the ingredients and formed the patties and put them in the fridge for R to cook on Wednesday after work. You can also freeze them so you can always have something on hand! (I think I am going to do a big batch here soon.) R just sprayed our pan with cooking oil and let them cook all the way through. Because of the pineapple – they are SO juicy!! It’s great.

We also had the extra burgers last night for dinner, so I wanted to do something else as a side – hence why I went to the Farmers Market for some inspiration. I also had gotten a wonderful little package from my mom yesterday that had 4 different Penzey’s Spices in it and I was DYING to try them, then I found a recipe for sautéed sesame green beans (which were at the FM and called for crushed red pepper) and mmm mmm mmm was it good!

photo-5

Sautéed Sesame Green Beans

  • 1 lb of green beans
  • 3 T toasted sesame oil
  • 2 T crushed red pepper
  • 1 T sea salt

Wash and tear the stems off of the beans. Place all beans in a pan with a rim, and fill with about 2 inches of water. Place on high heat and let come to a boil – once boiling, let the beans cook for 2-3 minutes. Drain the beans and leave in colander while you heat the sesame oil in the same pan on med-high heat. Once the pan is hot, add the beans back in and coat well with the oil. Let cook for 2 minutes and then add the crushed red pepper – mixing well. Cook for another 5 minutes (or until the beans are tender) and add the sea salt. THAT’S IT! They were finger licking good.

I also tried to cook the padron peppers – it was a huge fail. I am not even getting into that right now. And one of the ones that I ate was spicy as HELL – I literally couldn’t taste the rest of my meal so I am a little bitter haha. But, maybe I will give them another try – probably not…

Leave a Reply

