Steak-Revamped

As I mentioned in a post from earlier in the week – we splurged and got 6 steak filets at Costco. Because they do not last as long as chicken breast or ground turkey (at least that’s what it seemed like from reading the packages) we wanted to eat them quickly so they didn’t go bad! By Tuesday, I was maybe a little tired of steak – I think it was just a lot of red meat for me when I rarely eat it anyway. But I knew we were having it for dinner so I was trying to think of a new side we could put together. I had to run to Target to pick something up (I seriously cannot remember what right now…) and of course I sauntered over to the food section to scour the aisles for something to eat that night. I found a bag of frozen butternut squash (which I had never tried), so I thought I would make a little sauté with that, broccoli and onions.

photo 3And you know what? It didn’t turn out too shabby!

Sautéed Broccoli and Butternut Squash

  • 1 bag of frozen butternut squash
  • 2 cups of broccoli
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 2 T coconut oil
  • 1 T ground red pepper
  • Salt/Pepper to taste

It was simple, simple. I just steamed the butternut squash for a few minutes (it was in a steamable bag) then I heated the coconut oil and added the broccoli and onions – let them cook for a few minutes and added the squash. Now I think I put the squash in the microwave for a little too long, because it got kind of mushy when it was on the stove – but I thought (and so did R) that it tasted good anyway! R topped his steak with some mushrooms and onions and we were set!

I also took a trip to the Wilsonville Farmer’s Market (Wilsonville is the town we live in) this week! It was a quaint little event, probably 10-15 stands and only about 5 of them had fresh ingredients. But it was a nice day so I just walked around, enjoyed the live music and picked up a few things for us to munch on!

photo-3

  • Honeydew Melon
  • Green Beans
  • Padron Peppers
  • Blueberries
  • Raspberries
  • Jalapeño smoked jerky (not pictured because I realized after I got home that I completely skipped over the ingredient brown sugar on the list! so that will have to just be saved for one of our cheat days later on!)

 

Spent $17, which is obviously more than I would have paid at the store – but I like buying local in small amounts. And we made an awesome side dish with the green beans that I will be posting here shortly!

photo-4

Leave a Reply

