Quick and Easy

Happy Wednesday!

My short work week is VERY short, as in I only had to work yesterday. So I have spent most of the morning catching up on CSC emails and paying bills (I would rather answer emails for hours than pay any bills, just for the record). But, it feels nice to be caught up and not have a looming “to-do” list waiting to get done.

As you may know from a previous post, Tuesdays are $5 movie day at our nearby movie theater. We went and saw The Butler last night. And my suggestion is that you stop reading this and go see it, RIGHT NOW. It was a phenomenal movie – some parts were really hard for me to watch, I have a really tough time wrapping my mind around the hatred that people experienced. And even more so that fact that in some places and in some people that hatred still exists. I cried more than twice and winced more than a handful of times – but this was a great film.

Well, I realize you didn’t come to read this post for a movie review – so onto some meals. I am not posting a meal plan for this week because we have just been kind of winging it and with me not working I have some time to do so. ANYWHO, these two meals were/would be perfect for throwing something together quick on a weeknight or throwing it in the crockpot and letting it cook all day (like we did).

If you’re from Iowa like I am, pulled pork is a pretty standard food for a lot of us. It’s never something that my family ate at home…but I always loved ordering it from restaurants or enjoying it at friends’ houses – so I was really excited to find a paleo recipe that didn’t seem all THAT tough. Check out the recipe from Ditch the Wheat – Pulled Barbecue Pork. Below you will see that changes I made to the recipe.

Pulled Barbecue Pork

photo 3-1

  • I made the BBQ sauce the night before and stored it in the fridge
  • For the sauce: I used regular mustard instead of dijon, I left out the maple syrup, and I used all chicken broth (no water)
  • For the meat: I think we used close to 5 lbs (SO MUCH – I suggest sticking to the 2/3 lb), used all chicken broth (no water, again), let cook on low for about 9 hours then drained the liquid/shredded it/added the sauce and let cook for another hour

The reason we had so much meat was because we bought a 10 lber at Costco for like $20. I had never made pulled pork before so I didn’t realize this would be enough to feed a family of 4 for about 3 nights…lesson learned.

The flavor is AWESOME though. Not exactly like regular BBQ sauce or anything, but really delicious. I played around a little with the spices and threw some extra here and there (as I do with most dishes) so I suggest experimenting and tasting as you go!

Pineapple Bake

This is a quick throw together dinner! I suggest buying Aidell’s Pineapple and Bacon Chicken Sausages for this – so yummy.

  • photo 2-1Chop up sausage
  • Chop peppers (whatever colors you have on hand – we used red and orange)
  • Chop onion
  • Chop pineapple
  • Add all ingredients to a 9×13 pan and place in the oven at 375 for 25-30 minutes (or until the sausages have browned), you may want to stir the ingredients periodically

THAT’S IT! This was pretty similar to the Sausage Apple bake we made a couple of weeks back, but I have to say – I think I enjoyed this one more! The pineapple just added a great flavor to it. And it took about 40 minutes total (that’s including the 30 minute cooking time) to be done! I don’t hate it…

One other thing I wanted to show you – I mentioned it in my last post, but here are what the banana and sunbutter bite sized snacks look like! Just be careful with these things… they are SO good it’s tough to keep the pan stocked!

photo 1-1

Leave a Reply

