Another asian inspired dish

Stir Fry has always been my go to. In college I think I had stir fry at least 3 times a week. It is easy to make and you can mix things up – different veggies, different sauces, different sides, etc…

I have found it a little more difficult to make stir fry while on the Whole30 because my typical sauces were premade, processed and full of sugar and other additives. There are plenty of recipes online to make your own paleo version of sauces – but most of them require you to buy a lot of different ingredients and honestly, I am a little too lazy for that. SO we have settled on other options, but sometimes I just can’t kick the craving for some good ol’ stir fry. I went out on a limb and tried a new “recipe” (I use quotations because I literally just was tossing things into the pan and prayed it tasted good) – luckily it worked!

image-77 image-84

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stir Fry w/ Asian Peanut Sauce and Spaghetti Squash

  • 1 large spaghetti squash
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 bag of frozen stir fry veggies
  • 2 T sun butter (or other nut butter besides peanut)
  • 2 T coconut aminos
  • 1 T sesame oil
  • 1 T coconut oil
  • 1 T ground red pepper
  • 1 T arrowroot powder (optional – thickens sauce)
  • 1 T crushed red pepper

First things first – preheat the over to 375 degrees. Cut the spaghetti squash in half length wise and remove seeds and “guts”. Place cut side up on a baking sheet and cook for 45 – 60 minutes (or until easily shredded with a fork). While the spaghetti squash is cooking…heat the coconut and sesame oil in a large skillet on med-high heat. Add diced chicken and cook thoroughly. Add frozen veggies and cook for another 5-6 minutes (or until veggies are cooked through). Add remaining spices and sun butter and stir well – making sure that everything mixes. Cover the skillet and let simmer until the spaghetti squash is done (this let the chicken and veggies soak up some of the sauce). Remove the spaghetti squash from the oven, let cool and shred with a fork – add shredded spaghetti squash to the skillet and mix well. Place in bowls and top with crushed red pepper to serve!

This recipe made enough for 3 servings for us hungry folk – could definitely be made into 4. While the list of ingredients may be slightly longer than some of the other things we make, trust me – this is easy and a good way to great a fancier looking meal in an hour (with most of the time being spent waiting for the spaghetti squash to cook!)

I have been getting a great response from people about this blog and you have no idea how happy that makes me. I wanted to do this to record things for myself and in hopes that maybe I could pass the word about the whole30 onto a few others. I really welcome any questions that you may have and would be happy to help you start your journey! I am by no stretch of the imagination a guru – but after 40 days I am feeling pretty good!

Leave a Reply

