Leftovers anyone?

I cannot believe it’s Sunday. I feel like every time I write a post I say, “I cannot believe it’s…” or “It’s (insert day of the week) already?!” But seriously, the weeks fly by! While I often think throughout the day that I need to write a blog post, sometimes my other to-do’s take precedence. As I mentioned, CSC (College Sitter Contact, for those of you who don’t know) is really at a place right now where we are working around the clock. We are SO close to having our new site ready to launch – but that means being by your phone or computer all day to answer questions and testing each portion of the site. Kudos to anyone out there who has been apart of a new website build, it is SO exciting but there is a lot more to it than I initially imagined. The payoff is going to be huge though – we cannot WAIT to see how CSC takes off.

Enough of my excuses…ain’t no body want to hear those. BUT another reason why I didn’t post a lot this past week is because we literally ate pulled pork for 4 days. (Mental note to self: 5 lbs of pork is WAY WAY too much to make when you live with two people.) So here are some sides that we cooked up with our leftovers…

Pulled Pork Sides: Carrot Fries and Avocado Cole Slaw

image-78Carrot Fries

  • 4 large carrots (peeled and cut into thin strips)
  • 2 T olive oil
  • Sea salt

Pre heat oven to 375 degrees, toss carrots in olive oil and place on a baking sheet. Let cook for 10-15 (until one side has browned) and flip, let cook for another 5 minutes (longer if you like them crispy). Remove from oven, sprinkle with salt and serve.

 

Avocado Slaw (this is another I Don’t Go to the Gym recipe)

  • 1 bag of cole slaw mix
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 T lime juice
  • 1 T Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp ground red pepper (my addition)
  • Salt/pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients (except coleslaw mix) in a blender or food processor and blend. Place coleslaw mix into a large bowl and add the dressing that you made in the blender. Mix well and place in the fridge until you are ready to serve.

Both of those are EXTREMELY good. Carrot fries taste pretty similar to sweet potato fries (kind of) but a lot less starch and the coleslaw was a nice was to round out a BBQ like meal with the pulled pork.

I have a few other things ready to post for today, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

