Chipotle Fake-Out

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I love mexican food. Now when I say mexican, I am referring to the more americanized versions – i.e. quesadillas, enchiladas, fajitas and all the fixings that come with! Three main ingredients in any of the mexican food I used to make was cheese, beans and corn. Can’t eat that stuff no more… so I wanted to find something else that we could paid with fajita chicken and vegetables (besides salad, which we have already done twice). I may have mentioned this in a previous post, but I have seen so many recipes for cauliflower rice floating around the internet that I had really wanted to try it. The main tool most recipes needed was a food processor, which is like the one thing we do not have, BUT I though the magic bullet would be a decent substitute. WRONNNNGGGGG – I tried it a couple of weeks ago but when I put the cauliflower in the magic bullet and turned it on…nothing happened. Like at all. SO that was the night that we had cauliflower mash instead.

I kept doing some checking on recipes to see if I could use any other tools in place of the food processor and one recipe said to use a grater – and that’s what I did! I want to say this now, it was slightly messy and took me a little while. I can certainly see why a food processor is the optimal choice, but I wasn’t about to go buy one for this recipe when I didn’t even know what it tasted like yet! (After trying it and knowing what else I could use the food processor for – it’s next on my gadget list.)

There are a TON of different ways you can prepare the “rice” – just switch up the seasonings! We went with a mexican/spicy route to match with the chicken fajitas we made. (And obliviously our guacamole and salsa!) Here is the recipe I used for the cauli-rice – it’s from Paleo Cupboard. If you are interested in finding some more recipes, her site is awesome!

photo 3-2

photo 1-2Just a few of my own changes:

  • added smoked paprika
  • added chipotle lime seasoning
  • added cilantro

We could have gone all out for a burrito bowl type thing, but this was close enough! One head of cauliflower made SO much, plenty for leftovers…our favorite!

Tonight we are trying a new pork recipe I found – wish us luck! There will be a post tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

