TRI WEEK

The week is finally here! The triathlon is 5 days away – meaning we have FIVE DAYS LEFT OF THE WHOLE30!!!! (Or in our case, the whole16532876). I know I have been lacking on posts lately (sorry) but we have been sticking to pretty basic meals. But I have been thinking a lot about what our diet is going to consist of after this weekend. R and I have both made a LOT of progress over the past two months and we both want to keep working towards better physical fitness. In order to do that I know we cannot just drop paleo and go back to our old diets. I do, however, want us to be realistic in our expectations so that we don’t end up beating ourselves up down the line. For example, we are going back to Iowa in a few weeks for a wedding – neither of us plan on picking around meals at the wedding or not enjoying cocktails (emphasis on the multiple) with our friends that we haven’t seen in months! But the fact is that a weekend of “bingeing” is going to need to be counteracted by some SERIOUS meal planning before and after. Looking into the next couple of months, having plans during the weekends here and there, I think that will be our main goal – be SERIOUS about sticking to paleo (whole30 even) during the week and then allowing ourselves a little break on the weekend, when necessary. My hope is that this will allow us to be a little more social while still maintaining the results that we are seeing right now. We both have told each other that we are NOT letting our bodies go back to how they were two months ago – so we are in this together. (Thank goodness, because I don’t know that I could do this on my own.)

With that all being said, I will still be blogging because (as you may know already) I get bored fairly easily with food and recipes. I plan on continuing to try new paleo dishes and flavors to see what things we like and work the best for us!

This past week, I tried one of my favorite seafood dishes – which I have actually never even cooked myself previously, Shrimp Scampi! I thought it was an A+, but maybe I’m biased…. 🙂 This was definitely a splurge meal though, it has 1/2 cup of olive oil and if you are familiar with the nutritional facts of the lovely EVOO, while it is a good fat it definitely can tack on the calories. We served it with zucchini noodles … low carb perfection. (Am I getting annoying yet?)

Shrimp Scampi

  • photo 1-33 large zucchini
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 3 T garlic
  • 1 lb shrimp (peeled and deveined – I would also suggest removing the tails prior to cooking)
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 3 T parsley
  • salt/pepper

Heat large skillet on med-high with olive oil and garlic. Once heated, add shrimp, lemon, parsley and salt/pepper to taste. Cook for about 3-4 minutes on each side (until the shrimp is fully pink). Make zucchini noodles – peel skin off with regular peeler and peel remaining zucchini up to the seeds with a julienne peeler. In a large pot, bring water to a boil. Add zucchini noodles and cook for 3-4 minutes – drain water and add zucchini noodles to the pan with shrimp and sauce.

Next time I think I would add some steamed broccoli too, just to bulk it up a little! I guess another way would be to make some more zucchini noodles. Either way, it was plenty of food – just saying!

We had another night of brats too – god I love them. We basically made sausage and peppers and paired it with…big surprise here…CARROT FRIES!!!! Note to self – no need to purchase a 10 lb bag of them from Costco, we will just stick to the regular sized bag haha.

photo 4 photo 5I hope you all have an AMAZING week! Keep your fingers crossed that the weather cooperates this weekend for the tri!

Also, we made a BOMB meat sauce last night, recipe tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

