Italian Night

Some of you may know that my mom’s family is Italian – and when I say Italian I mean all things great that come along with that word. Loud and vivacious gatherings, food for days cooked from scratch that smells amazing, and more love than you could every imagine. I could go on for days about all of this, but for the sake of this blog (and your time) I am focusing on the food aspect. Ever since I can remember I have LOVED italian food. Baked ziti, meatballs, chicken parm, lasagna, PIZZA…I mean the list goes on. Through the years though, I have had to come to the realization that while I may be able to eat Italian all day and night but I SHOULDN’T be doing that. I found ways to make the recipes I grew up with healthier and still delicious, but when we started Paleo one of my staple ingredients was cut out – CHEESE. So I was on a mission to make us good, quality meals minus basically all the ingredients we were used to haha.

Enough rambling about my love for food… we decided to make homemade meat sauce and serve it with spaghetti squash. My recipe for sauce is derived from my mom’s – I will admit, she makes it better…but I’m learning.

photo 2-4Meat Sauce w/ Spaghetti Squash

  • 1 lb ground turkey (we bought one that was italian seasoned)
  • 1/2 large white onion – chopped (could also use a bag of frozen chopped onion)
  • 3 T garlic
  • 3 T olive oil
  • 1 large can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 large can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 small can of tomato paste
  • 3 zucchinis (these were the leftover parts from our zucchini noodles with the shrimp scampi)
  • 1 large spaghetti squash

Preheat over to 375 degrees. Cut spaghetti squash in half length wise, scoop out the seeds and guts and place cut side up on a baking sheet – let cook for 50-60 minutes. Bring olive oil and garlic to med-high heat in a large saucepan, add onions and cook until translucent. In a separate pan, brown the ground turkey. Add tomatoes, tomato sauce and tomato paste to the saucepan with the onions. Add the zucchini to the pan with the ground turkey. Once zucchini is tender, combine all ingredients in one of the pans (whichever is bigger). Remove spaghetti squash from the over and shred with a fork (be careful though – they are HOT!). Serve and enjoy! (Oh also, I always throw a bunch of spices in everything I am making – I used a little bit of crushed red pepper, oregano, italian seasoning and a dash of garlic powder)

I could have eaten the sauce by itself it was so good. And it’s just vegetables and meat! This would be great over zucchini noodles as well!

We also did another night of kebabs – just chicken, peppers, onions and sweet potatoes on the side. So easy but so filling.

photo 1-4R has today off (he gets every other Friday off with his work schedule, so lucky him he gets to always hang out with me since I rarely work on Friday’s either!) so we are going to the Adidas store in Portland – we have 50%…helllllllo new Fall work out wardrobe!

On the note of new wardrobe, I am so excited that I am seeing such progress in my body as we come to a close on this month and a half journey (final weigh in will be coming up on Sunday!) – but it is expensive trying to recreate a wardrobe into things that fit! I will still be wearing most of my clothes, since they just fit better now – but my work out pants don’t stay up when I’m running…and let me tell you, I am an un-attractive runner BEFORE you add in me grabbing my pants every 5 seconds. So I think the purchases today are warranted 🙂

Cheers to DAY 52! I didn’t know if we could make it, but we certainly did!

 

Leave a Reply

