Fried Rice, Pork Chops and Lettuce Wraps

What happens when I get too caught up in other things to post our weekly recipes? You get stuck with a compilation of recipes in one post! But, that means lots of ideas if you are looking for something new to try this week! I think my plan is going to be to try at LEAST 1 new recipe each week – that way I will have something to share with you all AND R and I don’t have to get bored of the same ol’ same ol’.

Today is the jackpot… THREE new recipes!

Chicken Fried “Rice”

photo 2-5I didn’t follow an exact recipe, but after looking over a couple the one from Paleo & Wine is the closest one I found. I was a little frustrated when making this because we had gone to Kohl’s earlier that day and I purchased a food processor – finally! My plan was to use my new toy to make the cauliflower rice (remember that mess I made last time with the cheese grater??) HOWEVER, per usual, I picked a cheap one and it did not work the way that I was hoping it would – I think it was the amount of cauliflower I was trying to stuff in it. Needless to say, I ended up reverting back to my old ways and finished preparing the cauliflower rice with the cheese grater. R did most of the other cooking for this one – the chicken, veggies and the eggs. We mixed it all together with coconut aminos and enjoyed!

The ingredients we used:

  • 4 Eggs
  • 2 Chicken Breasts
  • Head of cauliflower
  • 2 cups chopped broccoli
  • 2 cups chopped carrots
  • 2 cups chopped onions
  • 1 cup chopped green onion
  • 4-5 T coconut aminos

While we didn’t follow a recipe, I know sometimes people like to use one – so feel free to click the link above the picture!

Another meal we tried this weekend was a pork loin w/ blueberry sauce. I told R he could pick whatever he wanted for dinner on Sunday after the tri and he decided he wanted to use the pork loin we had in the freezer. I had seen a recipe recently for a blueberry sauce that looked SO good (and truth be told I was looking for a reason to buy the big bag of frozen blueberries from Costco). So that’s what we made Sunday night – paired it with steamed broccoli and mashed sweet potatoes. Filling AND yummy.

Pork Loin w/ Blueberry Sauce

photo 1-5I pretty much followed this recipe to the T – except for cooking the pork. We found a recipe that had you slow roast it, so we tried that…however, we ended up over cooking it. It still tasted good, but I will definitely be doing it for less time the next go-round. (We cooked it for 3 hours at 250 degrees and 1 hour at 275 degrees – the goal is to get the meat to an internal temp of 155, take it out of the oven and then cover with foil and let rest for 10-15 minutes) I also didn’t read closely enough that the blueberries were supposed to be thawed prior to adding them to the sauce – didn’t seem to make a huge difference, but I did use the potato masher to deconstruct them a little after they were cooking for about 5 minutes.

I really loved this recipe and I think I will be making the blueberry sauce again soon – except maybe over pork chops this time, as they are a little easier to cook!

Last but not least… Thai Chicken Lettuce Wraps!!

Have you figured out yet that anything we can put into a lettuce leaf we like? I think it just adds a little more to the meal and you can squeeze some more veggies onto your plate easily! This is another recipe from Paleo Plan (where I got the pork loin w/ blueberry recipe from as well) – I really like how this site separates their recipes into categories, makes it easy for me to find what I am looking for!

photo 2-6I used the recipe as a guideline for this one and then did my own thing… so decide how you want to make yours and go for it!

  • 1 bag broccoli slaw
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 can pineapple chunks

The sauce I made was exactly the same as the recipe; however, I added the ingredients to the broccoli slaw after sautéing it for about 3-4 minutes. I also added about 1/2 the juice from the pineapple can to the slaw as well, drained the rest of the liquid from the can and threw the pineapple in with the mix. After the chicken was cooked, I added that to the pan as well and then served it up in lettuce leaves. We will DEFINITELY be having this again.

Our meals for the rest of this week are pretty standard: fajitas, chili and chicken apple sausage. Guess I better be on the look out for what our next new recipe will be! Enjoy your Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

