Life After the Whole30

Where does the time go? That really is the question. I feel like I could use a few more days during the week and then a few extra on the weekend, is that too much to ask?! I also want to note that I did indeed attempt to post on Tuesday…I got all the way through it, pictures and all, but when I

So…what has been going on here in Portlandia? Last weekend (our first-non Whole30 weekend) we spent celebrating R’s birthday! His actual birthday is on the 12th, but since we will be in DSM at one of our good friend’s wedding I figured we should do something before we went home. And if you know me at all, you know I LOVE birthday’s, so any reason to extend one is good with me! Thursday night we went to see Jake Owen and Jason Aldean in concert at an outdoor amphitheater in Washington. It was a great night and we indulged in a few beers AND some kettle corn. Then on Saturday we woke up early and made crepes from a recipe R got from his mom – we had a few mishaps in the preparation (neither of us had made crepes before) but they ended up tasting DELICIOUS. I will say though, that my body is definitely used to eating balanced meals (think: protein, veggies and fruit) because within an hour or so after eating my stomach was already growling…whoops. After breakfast we got ready for our couple’s massage, which was great (minus the stomach growling previously mentioned). We spent the afternoon watching the Iowa game (YAY FOR ANOTHER HAWKEYE WIN!) and I prepared another round of pulled pork in the crock pot. (The recipe will be given later in this post) We enjoyed a yummy meal of pulled pork, creamed corn and acorn squash before heading to see the new movie Rush. Overall, it was a great weekend and I was so happy to spend some quality time with R out and about.

One thing that made me feel pretty good after our cheat days was that my body felt not so good. That may sound strange, but it was relieving to know that my body was slightly “rejecting” the sugary items that I once used to feed it frequently. For me, that was the moment I knew that I really had made a change in my body and not just physically. Of course, this is not to say that it is going to stop me from splurging every once and a while – but I liked the fact that by Sunday I was more than ready to get back to our normal eating routine. (I had worried that I would never be able to get back into it…)

The pulled pork we made on Saturday was really good – both R and I liked it a lot, which is a good thing because I made enough for about 3 meals for each of us. (You think I would have learned after the last pulled pork night…) This recipe was way easier than the last one (BBQ pulled pork) that I made, mainly because there is no sauce – just a dry rub. The recipe is from Primal Bites – as with most of the sites I find ideas from, this is a great place to get inspired so check it out!

photo-7Crock Pot Pulled Pork

Click on the link ^ for instructions!

Ingredients needed:

  • 2-3 lbs. pork shoulder (picnic, butt or the entire shoulder)
  • 1 onion, sliced thinly
  • 2 Tbsp smoked paprika
  • 1 Tbsp ground Cumin
  • 1 Tbsp sea salt
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp allspice
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • juices of 1 lemon and 1 lime

As you can see, we ate the pork the NEXT night with broccoli and butternut squash. I was ecstatic when we were shopping at Costco the other day and came across a 3 lb container of peeled and chopped butternut squash, and for a reasonable price! Here is how I prepared it (stupid easy):

Butternut Squash:

  • 1 butternut squash – peeled and chopped
  • 2-3 T of olive oil
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 1 T nutmeg

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix squash in a bowl with the olive oil and seasoning to make sure it is fully coated. Arrange squash on a baking sheet that is lined with foil. Bake for 20-30 minutes (depending on your oven) until the squash can be pierced fully with a fork. Remove and serve!

So that’s that…now I feel like I am all caught up. Well, mostly. I have two new recipes that I want to share ASAP, but I don’t want to drag this post any longer. But, I hope you are all having a wonderful week and enjoying some fall weather…I already have Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes on the menu for this weekend…get excited!

Leave a Reply

