“Fried” Chicken

Happy Sunday!

I hope you have all had a relaxing (or exciting) weekend – whichever it is you prefer! Our weekend was a little bit of both, we watched the Iowa game yesterday (boo for losing) and then enjoyed the evening at the Governor’s Hotel in downtown Portland for R’s end of the fiscal year party. We met some really great people, who were gracious enough to invite us to sit with them, and ironically enough they were all originally from Iowa. If that’s not an icebreaker, I don’t know what is! We enjoyed some great food and a few glasses of wine (7 and 7’s for R). Incase you were wondering, yesterday was our cheat day – but all in all, we weren’t too bad. I did indulge in a delicious piece of focaccia bread and some mashed potatoes, while the rest of our meal was salad, chicken and vegetables. It was a nice night out and I really enjoyed meeting some of R’s co-workers. (Bonus for me: I may have even lined up a few more nanny gigs AND got invited to a girls’ night!)

Anyway, it was nice to get dressed up and spend an evening out. While we were getting ready to leave though, I did start thinking about how it is that some couples get so many great pictures of themselves. I have a friend, well I guess an acquaintance now, but a friend on social media nonetheless who has the most ADORABLE pictures of her and her husband during activities that they do (i.e. dinners, outings, date nights, etc…) I mean GREAT pictures. but it leaves me wondering, do they have a professional photographer walking around with them? Or do they just ask people to take photos for them? I would assume it’s the latter and maybe I just need to get over it and start asking people to snap photos of R and I…but I just feel funny doing that most of the time. Last night for example, I don’t think R and I have both dressed up that much since a wedding we went to last June, so it would have been REALLY nice to get a good photo. However, I was a big chicken and didn’t want to ask anyone. I guess I will just have to suffice with the photo I took in the mirror of myself before we left so I could show my friend J and my mom what my dress looked like… I’ll try harder next time.

ONTO THE FOOD! I have been seeing a lot of recipes flying around for paleo “fried” chicken, which seems more to me like breaded chicken but you can be the judge. I figured now that we were not doing the Whole30 anymore, it would be a good time to try – as most recipes require almond flour, which is something we couldn’t eat on the Whole30 program. I will note, that while I didn’t come up with this recipe on my own – I used a LARGE variety of tips and tricks from various locations, so I am just going to put what I did. Feel free to check out some other recipes and tweak it to your liking! (It’s more fun that way)

Paleo “Fried” Chicken

  • photo-81 lb of chicken tenders (I used chicken breasts and just cut them into tender size)
  • 1 cup dijon mustard
  • 2 T water
  • Salt/Pepper
  • 1 cup almond meal/flour (whichever you have on hand – we used meal)
  • 2 T Penzey’s Shallot Pepper seasoning (this could be left out, but I had some on hand and wanted to use it!)
  • 2 T ground red pepper
  • Olive oil for frying

First, create your two dredging bowls. #1: mustard, water, salt/pepper to taste. #2: almond meal, shallot pepper seasoning, red pepper, salt/pepper to taste. Cut chicken if needed (removing any visible fat as well.) Cover the bottom of a frying pan with a thin layer of olive oil and heat to medium. Once the pan is heated thoroughly, begin to bread your chicken by placing it in the mustard mixture first, then into the dry mixture. Place in the frying pan and let cook for 3-5 minutes on each side. The chicken should have a nice golden brown crisped exterior once done. (I am also a little neurotic about cooking chicken and making sure it is done, so I cut a little slit in the middle of each piece before removing it to make sure it’s cooked all the way through.) If you notice that a lot of your flour mixture fell off into the pan and is starting to burn, just wash out the pan and start again (with olive oil and reheating it). Serve with veggies of your choice! We chose roasted tomatoes and asparagus – yum.

*Recipe note: if you don’t like mustard – try a different recipe. This one definitely has a mustardy taste thanks to our dijon dredge, which I loved, but I realize may not be for everyone. I saw a lot of other recipes just use a traditional egg dredge instead, which would work nicely too.

R told me this is a recipe he wants to keep repeating, so I think to keep things interesting we will change it up a little next time. I will be sure to report how that goes! I hope you all enjoy the rest of your weekend, I will be pretending to watch RedZone with R, when in reality I am scouring Pinterest for dream wedding ideas, new home decor, wishing for a new wardrobe or getting inspiration for our next meal. All very productive in my book.

Leave a Reply

