Pumpkin Time…Again

Hello hello!

As promised, I did take a little hiatus from posting – merely because I made absolutely nothing new last week. Like at all. Last week was purely focused on getting R and I back into our routine of working out (running mostly) and eating clean since we had a race to get ready for! (Side note – what were we thinking signing up for a race the weekend AFTER we binge ate/drank? We are still trying to figure that out ourselves…) I am happy to report though that R and I both finished our races (mine being the 5k and R’s being the half marathon) under our goal times! Yay for us!

If you would have told me 3 months ago that I would be able to make my legs run for 3 miles without stopping I would have laughed in your face and then lay down because the thought of it would have made me tired. I realize that plenty of people run 5k’s on the reg, but that just was never me – nor did I ever see it being me. But I did it! And that has opened my eyes to the fact that if you push yourself, even just a little bit, every day towards being a better person – whether that is better physically or emotionally, you WILL get there. I promise.

photo 1-11photo 2-11 photo 3-9 photo 4-2

I may have mentioned this before but R has been training for a marathon that he is going to be running in February up in Birch Bay, Washington. After the race this past weekend, R and I started talking about the possibility of me running in the half marathon the same day as the marathon in WA. Can I do it? Is it physically possible for me to run 13.1 miles? Guess I won’t know until I try! I found a running plan from Fitness Magazine that helps beginning runners work for 10 weeks with the end goal being a half marathon race. Lucky for me, I have 18 weeks – even longer to get prepared!

ANYWAY, onto some food – PUMPKIN food!

Race day was QUITE chilly, so nothing sounded better to us than some nice warm Pumpkin Soup upon our arrival home. We stole this recipe from my mom (who got it sent to her from someone at the school she works at…so not credit to us for this one!) – she made it for us when we were home and we loved it.

Spicy Pumpkin Soup

photo 5-1

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 chopped onion (medium sized)
  • 3-4 ribs chopped celery
  • 1 chopped red pepper
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1-2 tablespoons hot pepper sauce (Franks or Sriacha)
  • 1 tablespoon poultry seasoning
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 1 29oz can pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie mix, just canned pumpkin)
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg

Instructions

  1. heat oil in a large sauce pot
  2. add onion, celery, pepper, salt and bay leaf. cook 6-7 min
  3. stir in hot sauce, seasoning – heat 1 min
  4. whisk in broth until boiling reduce heat
  5. whisk in pumpkin and simmer 10 min.
  6. stir in nutmeg and let simmer until ready to serve

Our most recent kitchen purchase was an immersion blender, so we decided to puree the soup and all the veggies in it. The taste was still fantastic – but I was not a huge fan of the texture. So my suggestion is to just leave it as is – that is how we ate it and we were home and I liked it a lot more that way. Guess I will just have to find a new use for our immersion blender – oops!

We also went to the pumpkin patch this weekend so that we could get our CARVIN’ ON! R also wanted to try making pumpkin seeds – so that we did.

image-86They are super easy to make – we tried three different versions.

  1. Seasoned salt (Johnny’s)
  2. Sea salt
  3. Cinnamon and sugar (house favorite…obviously)

All you have to do is wash the seeds well, toss them with olive oil and whatever seasonings you prefer, roast them in a 375 degree oven for approximately 10 minutes (or until they are no longer soft).

We carved/painted our pumpkins last night too – now I just need to get some candles and I will post a pic of our masterpieces. Get excited!

I am trying a new crock pot recipe tonight – stuffed acorn squash, recipe will follow…I promise!

Leave a Reply

