Stuffed Acorn Squash

I have made a decision, probably to your benefit, to stop making up “clever” (using that word lightly) titles for my posts and instead just calling them what the recipes are! Hello??!!! What a crazy idea! So, to that point – today’s post is a recipe for Stuffed Acorn Squash – yum. But more on that in a minute.

I want to fill you all in on my plan for the next month. R and I are starting a 30 day challenge at a hot yoga studio on Sunday. That means, you guessed it, 30 straight days of classes. We must just like 30 day challenges… ANYWAY, we are planning on going to the evening class so that R and I can go together. But this got me thinking about something else, something WAY more important – DINNER! I began trying to brainstorm how I would juggle getting dinner ready or coming up with recipes R would want to make on the days I worked and what kind of meals would still be good by the time we got home. Then, a lightbulb went off… CROCK POT. I have been finding so many delicious paleo crock pot recipes lately and I figured what better way to try them all out then start yet another challenge! The 30 day crock pot challenge! The rules are simple – I am going to make 3-4 crock pot recipes per week (all of our weekday meals, using leftovers sometimes!) starting next week until Thanksgiving! I hope you all have your crock pots cleaned and ready to go!

I got started a little early with the crock pot recipes because I was dying to try this one out (and we bought an acorn squash at the pumpkin patch last weekend!). It definitely fell under my three favorite categories: quick, simple and delicious! You can also get creative with this – switch up the filling, add different ingredients and/or spices, make it your own! I got this recipe from My Paleo CrockPot and I am going to give you a heads up now…I plan on using her website for A LOT of my crock pot meals this month. I mean CHECK OUT HER RECIPE INDEX???? They all sound amazing!

Stuffed Acorn Squash – Crock Pot

I used all the same ingredients/spices that the recipe called for – except raisins, I subbed those out for craisins, which R and I prefer. (so good!) The instructions are simple: chop the onion and apple.

photo 1-12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Combine with browned meat and cook until onions/apples are done. Remove from heat and add craisins.

photo 3-10

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cut squash in half and remove insides.

photo 2-12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Place in crock pot and fill with meat mixture. Pour 1/4 cup of water on the bottom of the crock pot.

photo 4-3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let cook on low heat for 4 hours and then enjoy!!

photo 5-2

Leave a Reply

