Crock Pot Hawaiian Chicken

Does anyone else feel like it is absolutely INSANE that it is November 1st already? I mean really, Thanksgiving is a few short weeks away – then Christmas – then the best holiday of the year…MY BIRTHDAY. I realize I am getting ahead of myself, but c’mon – it seems like yesterday that I was packing up my stuff in Phoenix to begin the trek up the coast. In reality though that was 4 months ago. NUTS.

Well, I hope you all have been enjoying the fall season – I know I have! I am not trying to brag (well, yeah I kind of am…) but it has been beyond gorgeous here in Portland. I couldn’t have asked for better fall weather – crisp in the morning, warm from the sun in the afternoon, and just a light little chill in the evening. Now that I re-read that sentence…is the word crisp correct? I feel like that is a saying but I am questioning it right now. For the time being I am going to roll with it. Back to the weather, as with most great things…they come to an end. I took a look at the 10 day forecast for our area and it seems that we are heading right into the rainy season. I think I can take it, really how bad can it be? (I should probably re-read this specific post about two months in when all I want is a little sunshine during my day!) I guess we will just have to take it one day at a time and for now I am still going to head out for a run today and enjoy the 55 degree sun made even better with the colored leaves going up and down every street. (I feel like I just painted a pretty nice picture there…so who wants to come visit?!)

Anyway, I have some news – R and I decided that we were going to wait until after Thanksgiving to start our 30 day hot yoga challenge. The reason being, quite simply, that we were hungover on Sunday and I still felt like crap on Monday SO by that point we would be missing more days (with visitors coming in and out the next month) and we wanted to get the bang for our buck. Not to worry though!!! I am still going to be going HAM on the crock pot this month. I have just found too many good recipes NOT to share them with you. I am even on planning on making the splurge ($40 whole bucks) on a crock pot with a timer so that I don’t keep having to overcook the chicken since no one is home to turn it off! More on that when I buy it though…

What I REALLY wanted to tell you about is the Hawaiian Chicken I made the other night! Seriously, STUPID easy. I am learning to use the word easy more sparingly and when it is actually appropriate – and this is the PERFECT use. 3 ingredients. In the crock pot. Done. Yep, those were the instructions.

photo 1-13

photo 2-13

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Crock Pot Hawaiian Chicken

  • 1 lb of chicken (that was 2 chicken breasts for us, because Costco is crazy and their chicken is huge)
  • 2-3 cups of salsa (pick your fav!)
  • 1 large can of pineapple (we used chunks, but I personally think crushed would work better)

Toss everything into the crockpot, cover and let cook on low for 5-6 hours. The chicken should shred REAL easily and you can use it in SO many different things. As you can see, we made lettuce wraps – but you could do a yummy salad, cauliflower rice bowls, or even use in enchiladas or quesadillas if you aren’t following strict paleo. OMG or stuffed peppers. I think I am going to make it again this weekend just so I can try that.

Basically, if you need something CHEAP, QUICK, and painfully EASY – this is it!!!!!!! Enjoy! Oh yeah, and have a fabulous weekend 🙂

2 thoughts on “Crock Pot Hawaiian Chicken

Leave a Reply

