Crock Pot Chicken Fajita Soup

I am going to start this post by telling you the most EXCITING THING!!!!! I officially bought R and I a new crock pot!! My enthusiasm is not a joke and I hope I am relaying properly through text, but I am so happy. Even more so because I bought it for 30 bucks!!!! (I think I have used up all the exclamation points allowed in one blog post on those last three sentences..oh well) The main reason I am as excited as I am for this is because the days when we typically use the crock pot, R and I are both working. This means that since I leave earlier than R, he has to turn on the crock pot when he leaves between 6:45-7. Also, since I get home later than him on those days, he has to turn it off – but typically he doesn’t get home until around 5. If you can’t figure out that math, that is a minimum of 10 hours for the food to be cooking! Some recipes may call for that amount of time (on a low setting of course) but the majority of the ones that I have been using with fresh (not frozen) meat only need 4-6. What are we left with? Overcooked food! Granted – it has still been delicious, but I can’t wait to repeat some of the recipes I have done recently with the PROPER time settings! Anyway, some of you may think this is the dumbest thing to be excited over and that’s okay. But some of you may not, and I want those of you who understand to come hang out with me and we can cook things in our crock pots.

I also stopped into Trader Joe’s today – my first time in about a year and a half. But, the other day R and I were driving and we noticed one not too far from our exit on the highway so I figured today would be a good day to check it out. I needed just a couple of random items for meals this week that I didn’t want to buy in bulk at Costco – cauliflower, jalapeños, and coconut milk. In comparison to the Whole Foods we have here, TJs is much smaller, but MY GOD do I love it. First off, I do not feel as though I am being watched in every aisle by someone who just knows I don’t have a clue where to look for almond flour. Secondly, since it is smaller it is so much more manageable. Every time I am in WF I walk up and down every aisle about 4 times before I actually find the one item (unsweetened applesauce) that I am looking for. Third, their food is GREAT quality at a GREAT price – perfect for a poor person like me trying to eat as healthy and clean as possible. Sure some of their packaged items have a bunch of “yucky” ingredients – but helllllllo, so does WF and every other food store out there. Just got to make sure you are checking the labels! And if your cart gets in the way of 20 different people, just apologize and find another spot where you will inconvenience new people.

Trader Joe’s items purchased today: coconut cream (I thought it said milk for some reason…but it will work), banana chips (no additives), almond milk (for smoothies), coconut oil (for everything, literally), jalapeños (recipe forthcoming), cauliflower (again, recipe to come), unsweetened applesauce (snacky), and frozen mangoes (snack OR smoothies… so versatile). I probably should have taken a picture of everything to make that whole listing process a little easier…ya live, ya learn.

Recipe time! This one is a good one, I’m tellin’ ya. The recipe I used was from a blog called From Pasta to Paleo, which I found through Pinterest (who would have guessed!). It seemed pretty straight forward, but I knew I would be making my own adjustments to it. Check out her recipe and then you can note what I changed for ours. I guarantee you will not be disappointed, especially when it seems like the only good thing to do on a chilly night is cuddle up in a blanket with some soup – so why not make it mexican style?!

Recipe Changes

  • Main thing – I changed the name because I threw in about 3 T of fajita seasoning and didn’t make the paleo tortillas, so fajita soup it is!
  • Used 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of the Rotel (didn’t have any on hand)
  • Used chicken broth – not stock, did NOT use the 2 c hot water
  • Cooked everything in the…CROCK POT! Just chop veggies, trim chicken and place over the veggies, add the diced tomatoes and spices, stir well, cover and cook on low for approx 5-6 hours, when chicken is done you will be able to shred it easily (I took it out of the crock pot and shredded it then put in back in with the soup)

photo 1-14 photo 5-4 photo 4-5

Seriously…doesn’t that look awesome? It was. End of story. And that is some roasted butternut squash you see on the side there. Thumbs up for this meal!

Leave a Reply

