Spaghetti Squash Casserole

Friday, Friday, it’s finally Friday!

This week, more than usual, has seemed to fly by. Between nannying, conference calls with CSC website developers and running errands/doing chores, well…I just can’t believe the weekend is here already! Not that I am complaining. In other WONDERFUL news, R and I just found out that we are getting more visitors! Two sets of friends, two different weekends in January – we are certainly going to be starting off 2014 right! But before I can even begin to start planning for those trips, I need to turn my focus to the next couple of weekends. R’s friend will be arriving next Thursday for the weekend and then the following Thursday his family gets here for Thanksgiving! We will be going up to Seattle for a couple of days when R’s family first gets here – which I am SO looking forward too since we have yet to make it up there. Is it embarrassing to say that I am already thinking about Thanksgiving dinner, too? I mean really…it’s one of the best days of the year. I am trying to scour the internet and my cook books for a delicious paleo treat I can make and bring for everyone – but I need time to test it so that I don’t make a fool of myself! Hope I can find something. 🙂

I know that I have been overwhelming you with crock pot recipes – so I decided to hold off on one for today and instead give you a pretty easy weeknight meal. I am going to give a disclaimer right now though – we DID eat cheese with this. Hold the gasps…we used about 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, which I had bought when the boys were all in town. I wanted to get rid of it, so obviously we had to it – no chance I was just tossing it! The more I read into Paleo though, the more I see some people incorporating certain “no-no” foods every now and then. I think this says a lot about people who try and follow the Paleo lifestyle. If your body can physically handle (and by that I mean digest) a little cheese here and there – then select the best possible kind (ingredients and process) and enjoy! For R and I – we haven’t experienced too much trouble, or at least more than we would have expected, when we add foods such as dairy or grains back into our diet. So for us, we just avoid eating them for health benefits – but it doesn’t harm us if we do choose to eat them. Long story short…WE ATE CHEESE, OKAY?!?

This Spaghetti Squash Casserole was found on Pinterest. It really is such a god send and I think I would die if my boards got deleted…okay, maybe a little dramatic – but really. All my ideas for crafts, recipes, dream wedding, home decorating, dream wardrobe, the list goes on. Back to the recipe – when I made it, I browned the meat in one pan, cooked the veggies in another and roasted the squash in yet another. That led to too many dishes. I would suggest browning the meat, then adding the veggies to cook in that same pan. (Yes I realize this only saves you one pan…but it makes a difference.) I also left out the egg, because quite frankly it just weirded me out – but it would have been used to take place of the cheese as a binding ingredient. Other than that – I followed the recipe exactly. It was DELICIOUS. (Even the leftovers!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1 handfuls spinach, finely diced
  • 20 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp. minced garlic
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 1/2 tbsp. EVOO

Process: (I am adding my modifications – if you want to see the original, click the link above!)

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F. Cut squash in half lengthwise. Remove seeds. Place cut side up on a baking sheet, and bake for 25 minutes.
  2. While squash is baking, brown ground beef over medium high heat, when it is almost completed add all the prepared veggies (except spinach) w/ garlic and EVOO. Add seasonings. When the onions are almost translucent, add the spinach and cook until wilted.
  3. Once squash is done, remove from oven and shred the meat of the squash with a fork. Add to pan with sautéed veggies and meat. Mix together thoroughly.
  4. Pour mixture inside a 9 x 9 baking dish, sprinkle with cheese and cook at 400 F for 15 minutes.

photo 2-18 photo 2-17 photo 1-17

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I forgot to take a picture after we took it out of the oven – whoops! It looked pretty darn similar to the last picture, but with melted cheese. So, so yummy. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

