A Little Bit of Randomness

Thursday! You know what the means…it’s practically the weekend! Any big plans? We have another visitor coming in tonight – R’s friend from high school. I am super excited, as I have only met him once and it was over a year ago! We have some fun things planned – most of which involve food and booze…whoops! Hopefully I will have some good stories and pictures to share by Sunday.

Anyway, the past week has been hectic – and and I don’t feel like things are going to be slowing down any time soon, so I better get used to it! In the midst of all the craziness R and I have been cooking up some random things throughout the week. No rhyme or reason really – just had some things in the fridge that we didn’t want to go bad! Sometimes that’s how the best things are created, am I right?

Now – I was never a huge fan of deviled eggs growing up. Mostly because I hated mayonnaise so I thought anything that could be associated with it was gross. (Very mature thought process) Over the years though, I have learned to love hardboiled eggs as an easy snack or addition to a salad. I saw a recipe (that might be an overstatement) on Pinterest that suggested using an avocado instead of mayo to make the deviled eggs “Paleo friendly”. It was not bad I’ll tell ya that!

Avocado Deviled Eggs:

  • 6-7 Hard boiled eggs
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 T lime juice
  • 1 T garlic powder
  • 1 T cayenne pepper
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 t black pepper

Mix all the ingredients (besides the eggs) in a food processor. Carefully peel and cut the eggs in half, remove the yolk and add to the food processor – blend again until all ingredients are combined. Spoon the mixture back into the eggs and VIOLA!

image-89

 

 

 

 

 

 

Crock Pot Pumpkin Butter

Disclaimer: I know you are probably pumpkined out by this point – BUT this, is a great way to use up leftover pumpkin puree for a sweet treat that you can enjoy (basically guilt free) with apples, bananas, muffins, the list goes on. And just like with pumpkin puree – you can freeze this stuff and just thaw it out when you’re ready to use it. I had some with apples this week, but I am freezing the rest for a french toast bake next weekend when R’s family is here. (Again…not exactly Paleo, but you gotta splurge sometimes!!!

Instead of typing out the recipe – go check it out at Baked Bree’s site. I copied it exactly.

photo-16

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking for a quick dinner? I’ve got one for ya! Slice up some chicken sausage (the one below is italian flavored – found at…you guessed it, Costco!) Throw them into a crock pot with a jar of your favorite clean and paleo friendly tomato sauce – OR – 1 can of tomato sauce, 1 can of diced tomatoes, some chopped red onion, garlic powder, and italian seasoning. Let cook on high for at least an hour (the sausage is already cooked – so you are really just wanting to heat them up and let them soak in the flavor from the sauce). Peel up some zucchinis using your handy dandy julienne peeler! If you don’t have one yet, just buy it! Either sautee or boil the zucchini – either way only takes about 3-5 minutes. And serve! Pretty nice meal for something that takes all of 10 minutes to prepare!

photo 3-15That’s all my randomness for now! I have a good soup recipe coming your way – and mustard chicken that is to die for! But, until then – enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

