Buffalo Chicken Soup

Well, well…Sunday has arrived, yet again.

During my college years, which by the way seems like yesterday, Sunday was my least favorite day of the week. There were two main reasons that played into this: I had to start getting myself prepared to be a real person for 5 straight days (school and work) AND any visitors that we had in town were usually preparing to leave (always a bummer). As I’ve gotten older and slightly more mature (sometimes this is a debatable topic…) I have come to L-O-V-E Sundays. Especially Sundays when I don’t have a gosh darn thing to do. I can leisurely do whatever random chores need to get done around the apartment, sit around and plan our meals/food prep (which I enjoy more than most people I think), and in general just unwind before getting back into the swing of things on Monday. Do I miss my crazy weekends with my girlfriends – most of which consisted of multiple sleepovers and not leaving each other’s  sides for a minimum of 48 hours? Of course I do! More than I can even say! But…I like this new relationship I’ve developed with Sundays, they really just aren’t that bad!

As promised, there was a decent amount of food and beer that was had this weekend. All of which was not Paleo. Shun me if you must – BUT, as I have said before, my life does not revolve around Paleo. There are too many great foods and beverages out there for me to ignore. With that being said, we had some QUALITY craft brews this weekend – there is no way I can even tell you my favorite because I probably tried at least 35 (that is not a joke). We also tried a new breakfast place that was featured on an episode of Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives (if you haven’t watched this show yet, please do it) – it’s called Pine State Biscuits. I have never been a huge biscuits and gravy person, but MY GOD – they had the best biscuits I have ever put in my mouth. I was in a food coma for a good 2 hours after, but it was well worth it.

We did make a trip to the coast yesterday, regardless of our hungover state, to check out the scenery. It was raining pretty hard when we first got there, but once that let up the sky started letting some sunlight through the clouds and it really made for some gorgeous pictures. We only stayed for a couple of hours, but definitely plan on making another trip out there for a weekend.

photo 2-19 photo 3-16 photo 1-19 photo 4-6

Today we are back on the grind – I ran my longest run to date this afternoon, which was 5 miles. Still have a little ways to go before I am going to be comfortable about the half marathon in February, but I feel like I am at a good place for the 10k on New Years! Progress is slow sometimes, but it’s a really great sense of accomplishment to see that my body is continuing to push itself a little further each time. (Even if I did eat bread AND beer this weekend, haha!)

As this weather is continuing to cool down, I find myself craving soup and I have been wanting to try new recipes instead of going with the same ol’ chicken and vegetables. Where do you think I went while on this recipe search? If you guessed Pinterest you are RIGHT ON! I had seen recipes for Buffalo Chicken Soup floating around and I knew that it required you to puree cauliflower for some of the thickness and now that I had a trusty immersion blender in my kitchen army, I figured I better try it out! The recipe itself is very simple – the only thing I would mention is to make sure that your cauliflower is cooked enough. A few of my pieces didn’t blend and while it wasn’t the end of the world, it did surprise R who didn’t even know there was cauliflower in the soup at all haha.

Buffalo Chicken Soup – original recipe is from Paleoaholic

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of cauliflower, chopped
  • 4 Organic chicken breast
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsp Organic raw honey
  • 3 stalks of celery
  • 1 cup Franks red hots sauce
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 Tbsp onion powder
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 Tbsp fresh parsley
  • 1/2 Tbsp chives
  • 1/2 Tbsp dried dill
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro

Instructions:

  1. Using a large stock pot, add 6 cups of water and 2 cups of chicken broth, cauliflower and chicken breast.
  2. Bring to a boil and reduce heat.
  3. Once chicken is cooked remove and set aside.
  4. Add coconut milk, chicken stock, spices, honey, and franks red hot sauce.
  5. Use a stick blender and puree.
  6. Shred the chicken with a fork and add to the pot.
  7. Chop the celery and onion and add to the pot
  8. Stir in the parsley, chives and cilantro and simmer for 20 min.
  9. Serve and Enjoy!

The picture below shows the cauliflower (and there is chicken breasts underneath it) cooking in the water/broth mixture. And then the finished product! This is a perfect meal to make ahead of time and let simmer for awhile, the flavors all combine really nicely.

image-90

2 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Soup

    • Thank you! I love it here 🙂
      I am doing the Birch Bay Half Marathon in Washington. Thanksgiving was a little tough of my training so I am determined to stick to my schedule through the next month!

Leave a Reply

