Crockpot Minestrone Soup

I’M BACK!

Did you think I forgot how to post a recipe? To be honest, I thought I might have. It’s slightly insane how quickly a week goes by when you have visitors in town and are celebrating one of the best holidays EVER…Thanksgiving. And add to that the amount of time it takes to get yourself back on track after the big event. Well, it leaves me with the reason that I haven’t posted for two weeks. But, I finally feel back in the swing of our normal routine (you know – work, eat, run, sleep and repeat) except we added one more thing…HOT YOGA. As promised, we started our 30 day pass last week and I will admit – the first couple of classes were, how do I put this…r-o-u-g-h. I spent more time trying to convince myself that I wasn’t going to die during the second class than doing any actual yoga. But I am quite pleased to report that in our 4th class I was able to do the entire set (90 whole sweaty minutes) without taking a rest! Who woulda thought. My main goal now is to make sure that I keep hydrating enough during the day – as you maybe can imagine, it makes a huge difference. Hopefully we see some results after the month end, but we will have to wait and see!

While R’s family was in town, I was off cooking duty – helping where I could but R’s mom is a whiz in the kitchen and had great meals planned for the whole week! When we got back to the apartment after they left, I was so glad that we had some crockpot minestrone soup in the freezer that could be reheated! Definitely the easy way to get back into our Paleo eating.

This soup was super easy to throw together once you get passed the chopping part. I knew I wanted to cook it in the crockpot while I was working. I also knew that there was no freaking way I was going to wake up early enough to chop all the veggies and get to work on time (I am already a walking zombie when my alarm goes off at 5:30). SO I chopped everything the night before, stored it in a ziploc bag and then was able to literally toss everything in the crockpot in a few short minutes.

I got this recipe from Mellow Momma’s blog. The only changes I made was leaving out the kale (didn’t have any!) and adding chicken (protein!!!). Other than that, I followed it pretty exactly…and I ain’t mad about it! If you are looking for a hearty soup to warm you up in this weather but want to be careful of the additives and SODIUM from the store bought kind – this is the recipe for you.

Crockpot Minestrone Soup

Ingredients:
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 4 whole carrots peeled and chopped
  • 4 small zucchinis chopped
  • 2 bell peppers chopped
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes
  • 6 cups of chicken broth
  • 2 T parsley
  • 2 T basil
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Sea salt to taste

Instructions:

  1. Chop veggies
  2. Add chicken, veggies and ALL other ingredients to the crock pot
  3. Stir and cook on low for 8 hours
  4. Shred the chicken and serve!

 

photo 1-20 photo 2-20 photo 3-17

Leave a Reply

