Buffalo Turkey Meatloaf

What can I say? I am bad at multi tasking? Whatever – no excuses. 19 days is just too dang long to go without posting. I am sure you have all been on the edge of your seats waiting for the next recipe. Well, today is your lucky day!

Today officially begins my first adult winter break. Something I never knew if I would see again but am welcoming with open arms! R and I both have off today through the 2nd – bring on the new recipes and episodes of Shameless! (Seriously that’s really all I care about doing this week. Oh yea, and trying to get ready for this 10k on New Year’s – yikes!) Quick update on life here in PDX: still going strong with yoga (our month ends on the 29th and then we have to decide if we can handle paying $120 a month for it AHHH!), decorated our apartment for christmas, got some AWESOME new appliances (more to come on that later), enjoyed time with my family in Pittsburgh for a wedding, still working hard on the CSC website and trying to figure out (sooner rather than later of course) where our next move will be to. That’s about it! Other than that – same old, same old. I have a TON of new recipes ready to try out over “winter break” so I am excited to get back into the groove of things.

This recipe I made a few weeks back, actually now that I think about it we made it before Thanksgiving even rolled around. (Yeeeesh.) It is 3 of my favorite things: easy, quick and GOOD. I got the recipe from one of my favorite blogs PaleOMG. Julie (the author) writes kind of all over the place (similar to another beginning blogger I know…) so her posts are always fun to read. Not to mention she has GREAT recipes, whether you are just dipping your toes into the Paleo pond or if you are ready to cannon ball right in – she will have something for you. If you are looking for something to impress some guests that stop in over the holidays – but don’t want to spend the whole night in the kitchen, the Buffalo Chicken Meatloaf  (I changed it to turkey because I didn’t have chicken…) is a great one to try out. All you have to do is mix the ingredients in a bowl (most of which you probably already have in your pantry/fridge), plop it in a loaf pan and let it bake! I meant it when I said easy…

So here you go – enjoy!

Buffalo Chicken Meatloaf (link is to the original recipe – below is my altered version)

photo 4-7 photo 1-21 photo 2-21

Ingredients
  • 1lb ground turkey
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 3-4 tablespoons hot sauce (I used Red Hot)
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • ¼ small yellow onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon celery salt
  • salt and pepper, to taste
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Place all ingredients in a bowl and use your hands to mix thoroughly.
  3. Plop mixture into  one large loaf pan.
  4. Bake for 25-35 or until chicken is completely cooked through.

Yep…THAT’S REALLY IT! I put some sriracha on top before baking and served it with a side of mashed sweet potatoes! Just delightful!

I wish you and your family/friends a wonderful holiday and a happy and healthy new year! Remember, today is the day to make a change for the better, even if it is something small – every little bit counts.

Leave a Reply

