Crock Pot Sausage and Peppers

As 2013 is officially beginning to wind down, I have taken some extra time to take a step back and think about how truly amazing this year has been for me. I always find it interesting to see how far a year can really take you – whether that be in a relationship, your job, your health, etc… This year I lived in two very opposite states, made the decision to move in with R (easily the best decision of the last decade of my life), and chose to stop making excuses about my weight and make a serious change. I couldn’t be happier than where I am at right now, and I have 2013 to thank for that.

This year, among all the great things that happened, I lost my grandfather. I know, without a shadow of a doubt in my mind, that he is in a better place – out of the pain and suffering that he had been going through for the past couple of years. But that didn’t make it any easier for the rest of us that had to say good-bye, in what seemed like a very abrupt way. 7 months later, I can look back at that day and see what an amazing thing it was for so many people to come pay their respects to such a wonderful man, whom I got to call Poppy. It made me realize, more than ever, that I want to live a life in which I am helping others and making a difference in people’s lives. That is what Poppy did and I am so lucky that I got to have him for a grandfather for 23 years. I hope you all take the time to look at where you have come in the past year – some things may not be big, life changing moments and some may be things that were difficult to go through but in the end made you stronger.

2013 was also my introduction to a lifestyle that I had never heard of before – PALEO. I am not sure where I would be on my weight-loss/health journey had R and I not began our Paleo journey in August. At this point, I am not looking back. Yes – we have plenty of times where we eat things that are not Paleo (i.e. weddings, out-of-town visitors, holidays, etc…) but the overall concept is something that we have really stuck to and are enjoying, which to me is the most important part. Over the past 4 months we have experimented and tested tons of recipes – many that we loved, some that we hated. But it has all been an experiment to help better ourselves in the end. If you haven’t bought into this whole she-bang, I challenge you to give it a try. Give it 30 days – that’s it. Commit to challenging yourself and start a Whole30. I promise you, your life will not be the same. Maybe you will decide it isn’t for you – and that is FINE. But I think we all owe it to ourselves and our bodies to see what happens.

This recipe is PERFECT for a busy weeknight AND is Whole30 approved. I think I have mentioned before that I love sausage and peppers – like a lot. It’s one of my favorite meals that my mom makes when I am home, but especially when she knows I will have friends stopping by the house because it is such a crowd pleaser. Now, traditionally we would eat sausage and peppers in large, toasted hoagie buns. (mmm…so good) But for obvious reasons, I left those out this time. This meal can literally be thrown together in 5 minutes, will cook for 6-7 hours and then be ready to serve!

Sausage and Peppers

photo 3-18 photo 5-5 photo 4-8

Ingredients

  • 1 package of chicken sausage (italian style) – really any sausage will work
  • 3 peppers, sliced (orange, red, yellow) – your choice of color
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 1 can of petite diced tomatoes
  • 2 T italian seasoning
  • 1 T of garlic salt

Instructions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large crock pot
  2. Stir
  3. Let cook on low for 6-7 hours
  4. Prepared a side of your choice – we used roasted broccoli but you could do sweet potatoes, cauliflower, butternut squash, really whatever you have in the kitchen.
  5. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

