Honey Balsamic-Onion Chicken Skillet w/ Brussels Sprouts

Happy February!

My favorite month of the year! Not only because it is my birthday month (however, that is the main factor) but also because it’s when it seems that there will be an end in sight for Winter. Granted, many a time in Iowa the snow continues FAR past February…but you can at least PRETEND the end is near. As I sit here, in Oregon, writing this though the sun is shining and it is a crisp 49 degrees outside. Can you say perfection? Especially since there is some chili cooking away in the crockpot and a couple of bottles of pinot nior on the counter with my name on them.

Let’s take a minute though to talk about our favorite foods. My favorite food for most of my life was peas, with doritios coming in at a close second. However, peas I could usually have whenever I wanted and it was pretty easy to talk myself into adding it into basically any meal since it was a veggie. Doritos on the other hand, they were a “forbidden” love. Anyway, peas are no longer a staple in my freezer due to them being a legume making them a no-no in the paleo world and surprisingly enough I haven’t “splurged” on them yet. Yet being the key word in that sentence. So my favorite food/veggie spot has been open for some time now and I am pleased to report the job has finally been filled. Enter – BRUSSELS SPROUTS. My god, how did I not know how delicious these things were for the past 23 years? And ummm SO easy to cook. Like it blows my mind that I didn’t start making them until a few weeks ago. I don’t know if I was intimated by them or if my only knowledge of them was from childhood movies where the parents are basically force feeding them to their children. Whatever the reason, I avoided them like the plague. Then, as with most other new food items I have tried in the recent past, I began to see more and more recipes for brussels floating around pinterest and they looked GOOD – we had to give them a try! And what do you know, Costco carries them – score!

Anyway, I will go into the details for cooking them below – but these babies are REALLY versatile. Sweeten them up with some honey/balsamic vinegar or just roast with some olive oil and you are good to go. We have paired them with basically everything ranging from chicken to meatloaf to sausage. My weekly shopping trip is now not complete unless I have AT LEAST one bag of brussels sprouts. I suggest you pick some up the next time your out and give this recipe a whirl!

The recipe I want to highlight is from one of my FAVORITE blogs. I don’t know why it took me so long to get on the bandwagon for this either (I am sensing a pattern…) but if you haven’t checked out Iowa Girl Eats blog, go to it RIGHT NOW. While her meals are not advertised as Paleo, plenty of them either can be modified to fit the diet or only contain paleo ingredients to begin with. This Honey Balsamic-Onion Chicken Skillet caught my eye because it is the latter – only contains Paleo ingredients. WHOO HOO! It also falls into one of our favorite meal categories…E.A.S.Y.! I thought the perfect accompaniment to this chicken dish would be, what do you know, brussels sprouts. Except I had some pomegranate seeds in the fridge that I wanted to use really badly so I scoured the World Wide Web for some ideas. This recipe seemed like an A+ match.

Honey Balsamic-Onion Chicken Skillet

photo 5-6

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 large sweet onion, cut in half then sliced
3 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar, divided
2 chicken breasts, pounded thin then cut in half
garlic salt
pepper
1/4 cup chicken broth
1-1/2 Tablespoons honey

Directions: 

  1. Check out Iowa Girl Eats for the Full Recipe!

Brussels Sprouts w/ Pomegranate Seeds

photo 4-9

Ingredients:

6 cups Brussels sprouts
1 cup pomegranate seeds
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
½ teaspoon kosher salt
olive oil

Method:

  1. Wash the brussels sprouts then cut the tough end off the sprout and cut in half length wise. Remove and any leaves that have fallen off.
  2. Place in a greased rimmed baking sheet, cut side down, and sprinkled with some olive oil.
  3. Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven (375 degrees F) , until they appear to be golden brown, and tender when pierced with the fork.
  4. Mix together the maple syrup, the balsamic vinegar and the kosher salt  in a small bowl.
  5. When the sprouts are removed from the oven coat them with the maple syrup- vinegar mixture and returned for another 5 minutes baking.
  6. When done baking, transfer the brussels sprouts to a large bowl and add the pomegranate seeds. Stir well to combine and ENJOY!

photo 1-22

Look at this purrrrty meal! Have a fabulous Saturday and I will be back tomorrow with some DELECTABLE treats for you!

Leave a Reply

