Chocolate Sweet Potato Brownies

Superbowl Sunday has arrived! I am cheering for the Seahawks – but really I would just love to see a great game! (Haha, like I will be watching for anything but the commercials.)

My love for this day is mainly due to the fact that I can make a BUTT LOAD (technical measurement term) of food and seem relatively normal. I also just love all appetizer foods. I would always prefer to order a gazillion appetizers and get to try each one, rather than PICK JUST ONE MEAL TO EAT. I feel like that is a fair statement, if you disagree though…well, we will just have to work that out at a later time.

Over the past couple of weeks we have tried a couple of different Paleo “treats” out. Some have been great and others have been…not so great. I cannot seem to get the whole Paleo chocolate chip cookie thing together. Maybe someday. One thing that I was pleasantly surprised by were the Sweet Potato Brownies we made. Now, don’t get scared just yet. They were the most decadent brownies I have literally ever had in my life and they were COMPLETELY sweetened naturally. SCORE! I was worried that they would mess with the texture, but once they are baked you literally do not even know that the potatoes are in there. It is a strange but awesome phenomenon.

The recipe is from Eat Drink Paleo and as with most of the blogs I use for recipes, I think hers is another one you should add to your rotation. Her recipes are fairly simple, but do not lack pizazz by any means! This brownie recipe intrigued me because of the picture on the site, I mean look at it…I want to eat my computer screen. Since that seemed slightly idiotic, I decided I would just try to make them myself! (And it’s titled perfectly…Chocolate Brownies That Blew Me Away – couldn’t be more fitting.) So if you need something sweet to make for a Super Bowl party or you just have a sweet tooth sometimes like I do – try these out!

Chocolate Sweet Potato Brownies

photo 3-20 photo 2-23 photo 1-23

Ingredients

  • 1 medium raw white sweet potato, peeled and grated (using the larger holes of the grater) – 2 to 2 1/2 cups of shredded sweet potato
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract (the real kind)
  • 1/2 cup of raw honey, melted in the microwave if it’s too thick
  • generous 1/2 cup of virgin olive oil
  • 1 heaped tbsp of gluten free baking powder
  • ½ tbsp of baking soda
  • 1 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips (Paleo approved!)

Directions

Check out the full directions on Eat Drink Paleo’s site!

Enjoy your chocolate coma! 🙂

One thought on “Chocolate Sweet Potato Brownies

Leave a Reply

